Meek Mill’s ‘Dreamchasers 2’ mixtape


Meek Mill has had astonishing success over the last few months, especially after firstly being recognised for his collaboration with Rozay on “Ima Boss” from Maybach Music’s first production ‘Self Made vol.1’. The mixtape hit on the 7th May and has had over 6.5 millions views and 3 million downloads, giving it a diamond label on the distinguished and well-respected website. Meek tries to follow the same sounds as he did for his previous mixtape ‘Dreamchasers’; with similar beats on a few songs. Impressively, Meek has managed to bring some big names to the table with the collaborations on this mixtape, with features from Drake, Jeremih, Big Sean, Kendrick Lamar, Rick Ross, Fabolous, French Montana, Wale, Mac Miller, Trey Songz, 2 Chainz, Sam Sneaker, Louie V, Travis Scott and Jordanne. With these many artists, the mixtape was bound to be a hit with the fans – and so it was. Meek has claimed he is going to release videos for the popular songs from the tape, including “Lean Wit It”, “Racked Up Shawty”, “Amen” and “Flexing”. Moving on to the music, there has been obvious hits from the tape, among them are “Amen”, “Lean Wit It” and “Burn”. “Amen” is a calm song, not taking to Meek’s usual hard characteristic style; this song features Drake and Jeremih; it was bound to be a hit with the fans. “Burn” adopts Meek’s accustomed style, Big Sean joins him on this track. Jahill Beats produced this song, meaning that the beat was always going to be impressive, both Meek Mill and Big Sean murder this track, both artists alternate between verses throughout the song, this way, there isn’t only one point in the song where Big Sean comes in, or in fact Meek Mill comes in, you can listen to the whole song and be pleasantly satisfied with the production from the Philly and Detroit rappers. “Lean Wit It” is definitely the ‘banger’ from the tape, Cardiak (the producer) assembles a tough instrumental with Meek’s raw, Philly vocals, creating what seems to be a classic hip-hop tune.

This mixtape has been a huge success, in a recent interview with Rap Up, Meek claims that he has “really learnt the mixtape game” and adds he’s ready “to give [his fans] a return, a real album”. So, everyone, look forward to his upcoming album “Dreams And Nightmares”.

Lastly, I would highly recommend this mixtape to anyone that listens to such artists as Drake, Rick Ross, Wale, A$AP Rocky, Big Sean, Waka Flocka Flame, Young Jeezy – just anybody that appreciates hard hip-hop at it’s best.

Mixtape Rating: 9/10


1. Intro (Prod by The Beat Bully)
2. Ready Or Not (Prod by All Star)
3. Amen ft. Drake, Jeremih (Prod by KeY Wane)
4. Burn ft. Big Sean (Prod by Jahlil Beats)
5. A1 Everything ft. Kendrick Lamar
6. Use To Be ft. Jordanne
7. Flexing (Prod by Jahlil Beats)
8. I Get It ft. Travis Scott
9. Everyday ft. Rick Ross (Prod by Cardiak)
10. Racked Up Shawty ft. Fabolous, French Montana
11. Lean Wit It (Prod by Cardiak)
12. Big Dreams (Prod by All Star)
13. Take U Home ft. Wale, Big Sean (Prod by Beat Billionaire)
14. The Ride
15. Face Down ft. Trey Songz, Wale, Sam Sneaker (Prod by Sam Sneaker)
16. Str8 Like That ft. 2 Chainz, Louie V
17. House Party Remix ft. Fabolous, Wale, Mac Miller (Produced by The Beat Bully)
18. Real (Prod by SAP)
19. On My Way (Prod by All Star)
20. Outro (Produced by All Star)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s