MMG Presents: Self Made Vol. 2 (Deluxe Version)


Rick Ross, Meek Mill, Wale, Omarion and Stalley come together to create an enthralling album, in succession of their first album ‘Self Made Vol.1’. It seems like it’s going to be a very lucrative summer for MMG, with this album being released, as well as Rick Ross’ ‘God Forgives, I Don’t’ and Meek Mill’s ‘Dreams & Nightmares’; which are both promised to be exceedingly prosperous. Excluding the Maybach Group signed artists, features come from: French Montana, Wiz Khalifa, Nas, Kendrick Lamar, Roscoe Dash, Nipsey Hussle, T-Pain, Ace Hood, Bun B and T.I, this leads fan bases from all over the hip-hop industry, increasing the chance for success of this tape. The producers of the tracks on this album are also very impressive, including Cardiak, who produced a few songs from Meek Mill’s newest mixtape ‘Dreamchasers 2, also, Boi 1-da who is a very distinguished man in the business, The Beat Bully aka Tone Beats has produced a song on this album too; he’s been extremely lucky after his success on producing “Stay Schemin” with Rick Ross and “House Party” with Meek Mill. The Beat Bully has established himself with production on such big hits with both MMG artists.  The album opens with the track “Power Circle”, produced by Lee Major, an 8-minute long awakening to Maybach Music Group. This song features Gunplay, Stalley, Meek Mill, Wale, Rick Ross and Kendrick Lamar; it begins with the renowned Australian girls “What is this?” “Maybach Music.” “I like this Maybach Music, sweet!” that also featured on the original album and is now seen as the trademark point to the group. The piano played tune justifies the class, wealth and well-being of the label; the piano is the intro to each verse, acquainting each artist to the listener. Each artist does well on this track, each voice cuts due to the instrumental being an openly-inviting beat. Omarion gives a new view on MMG, with his soft R&B voice, it dismisses the hard, gangsta rap that is prejudiced when thinking of artist like Rick Ross, Meek Mill and Wale; Omarion has been a good addition to the crew, presenting diversity. There are certain tracks that signify the sort of rap that MMG are renowned for, such songs like: “Black Magic”, “All Birds”, “Actin’ Up”, “I Be Puttin’ On”, “Black On Black” and “Bury Me a G”. French Montana is a prominent figure on the tough tracks, like the ones listed above; increasing his popularity and capability. All of the contributing artists from Maybach Music Group have done themselves justice; so, altogether, I would recommend this album to any fans of the featured artists, as well as fans of MMG, obviously.

Enjoy the album. If possible, buy the ‘Deluxe Version’ instead of the original version due to the outstanding bonus tracks.

Album Rating: 9/10


1 Power Circle/Gunplay, Stalley,Wale & Meek Mill featuring Rick Ross & Kendrick Lamar
2 Black Magic/Meek Mill featuring Rick Ross
3 This Thing Of Ours/Wale & Omarion featuring Rick Ross & Nas
4 All Birds/Rick Ross featuring French Montana
5 Actin Up/Wale & Meek Mill featuring French Montana
6 Fountain Of Youth/Stalley featuring Rick Ross & Nipsey Hussle
7 I Be Puttin’ On/Wale featuring Wiz Khalifa, French Montana & Roscoe Dash
8 The Zenith/Wale & Stalley featuring Rick Ross
9 M.I.A./Omarion & Wale
10 Bag Of Money/Wale & Meek Mill featuring Rick Ross & T-Pain
11 Let’s Talk/Omarion featuring Rick Ross
12 Black On Black/Gunplay featuring Ace Hood & Bun B
13 FluorescentInk/Stalley & Wale featuring Rick Ross
14 Bury Me A G/Rick Ross featuring T.I


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s