DJ Drama’s ‘Quality Street Music’ Album

Drama has released one of the biggest collaboration albums of the year. The artists featuring on this album are second to none, Khaled’s ‘Kiss The Ring’ was good, but Drama has taken it to another level. Childish Gambino, T-Pain, Fabolous, Future, Young Jeezy, Nipsey Hussle, T.I., Ludacris, 2 Chainz, Jeremih, Meek Mill, Birdman, Waka Flocka Flame and Tyler, The Creator are just a few that play a part in the album; Drama has been waiting for his moment, it’s now here.

“My Moment” was just a warning for this album, Drama starts the intro with “You see, I’ve been waiting. Waiting on that time. Feel me if you’ve been waiting on yours. That moment, is close.” T-Minus produced this track, it was set to be a hit song – T-Minus is definitely making a name for himself, a few years ago he would produce to odd song on an album, now he’s producing major, hit songs. The song peaked at no.50 on the R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart, but it was a hit with most MMG fans, the young protege (Meek Mill) stepped up and spit a lethal verse. Not forgetting both Jeremih and 2 Chainz who also made this song a hit. Jeremih has been reborn into the game, from being popular a few years ago with his hit song “Birthday Sex” to being almost forgotten by the watching hip-hop and R&B fans of today. He’s now come back with 2 phenomenal performances on two tracks with no other than Meek Milly! Both “Amen” and “My Moment” needed a singer for the hook – Jeremih killed both. 2 Chainz’s verse goes without explanation, he’s proved his versatility and lyrical ability, especially after releasing his debut album ‘Based On A Tru Story’.

Coming to the album, the opening song is named “Goin’ Down”, featuring Fabolous, T-Pain and Yo Gotti. As Drama does, he opens the song: “Y’all ready?” at which point, every fan listening is screaming “Yes!” into the device they’re listening from. A calm beat was needed to start the album, Boi-1da was the man for job, a solid song to lift expectations of the album even higher. The most notable part of the song is the hook, T-Pain murders it, if anyone is needed for an album like this, it’s T-Pain. This track is a great opening for the album, not only because there is many more artists to look forward to, but because Drama had a plan, he stuck to it, it’s now resulted in the album reaching no.1 on the Hip-Hop Album charts on iTunes.

The fourth track on the album is “We In This Bitch”, featuring Future, Young Jeezy, T.I. and Ludacris, this was released previous to the album drop, on February 29th. With it being such an early release, it needed to raise the bar – it did. Future has had a rise in fame within the last year, Drama made a good decision by putting him on the track. T.I., Ludacris and Young Jeezy were a must on the album, they’re all top names in the game that consistently manage to exhibit their rapping ability. When Luda comes out with “…but 8 albums and Luda still in this bitch!”, it completes the whole song, Ludacris has been and always will be the king of the south.

One of the biggest songs from the album is “Ima Hata” featuring the fierce Waka Flocka Flame, the confusing Tyler, The Creator and the intense D-Bo. A hard track was expected, this is it, Waka Flocka Flame is the reason this is a hard track. Drama did the whole of hip-hop justice by putting Tyler, The Creator on the same track; Tyler has been a fan from the beginning and is constantly seen bumping to Waka. Flocka goes crazy on this track, the hook is hard enough: “Yeah, I’ma hata, fuck yo’ wrist. Yeah I’ma hata, fuck yo’ life. Yeah I’ma hata, nigga, fuck yo’ money!” before going in with a verse similar to his vicious verses in several previous songs. Songs like this give reminiscence of ‘Flockaveli’, Waka’s first successful album, featuring songs like “TTG” and “Karma”. Second to feature on the song is Tyler, The Creator – probably the most misunderstood rapper in the game right now. But he comes with fire, everybody goes hard on this track. The OFWGKTA pioneer has the instrumental silenced as he says “Um, hey fella, how you doing? Well I’m doing bad and I hope your day is ruined…” as his initial contribution to the track, but then he switches, he goes in. Next to bless “I’ma Hata” is D-Bo who is signed with Waka at Brick Squad Monopoly (BSM), he also does the beat justice and puts in a verse to the same capacity as the other 2 artists.

All in all, Drama has produced a great album, a truly pleasurable listen. Notably, both “Pledge of Allegiance” and “My Audemars” are two other bangers from the project.


Album Rating: 8/10


1. Goin Down ft. Fabolous, T-Pain and Yo Gotti
2. Never Die ft. Jadakiss, Cee-Lo Green, Nipsey Hussle and Young Jeezy
3. My Moment ft. 2 Chainz, Meek Mill and Jeremih
4. We In This Bitch featuring Young Jeezy, T.I., Ludacris and Future
5. So Many Girls ft. Wale, Tyga and Roscoe Dash
6. Clouds ft. Rick Ross, Miguel, Pusha T and Curren$y
7. Chocolate Droppa Skit – Kevin Hart
8. Ima Hata ft. Waka Flocka, Tyler The Creator and Debo
9. Real Niggas In The Building ft. Travis Porter and Kirko Bangz
10. My Way ft. Common, Lloyd and Kendrick Lamar
11. Pledge of Allegiance featuring Wiz Khalifa, Planet VI and B.O.B.
12. Same Ol Story ft. Kid Ink, ScHoolboy Q, Cory Gunz and Childish Gambino
13. We In This Bitch 1.5 ft. Drake and Future
14. My Audemars ft. Meek Mill, Birdman and Gucci Mane
15. Monique’s Room ft. Fred The Godson


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s