Kendrick Lamar’s “good kid, m.A.A.d city” Album


It’s finally here, K Dot has dropped one of the albums of the year.

After much questioning about the album title, Kendrick finally released the meaning to the Los Angeles Leakers. “Two meanings…the first one…My Angry Adolescence Divided”, but the second and “basic stand-out meaning is My Angels on Angles Dust”. Why? The presenter on the radio show asked “So.. you knew someone on angel dust?”, only for Kendrick to reply that it was himself, that’s the reason why he doesn’t smoke anymore. Kendrick summed up the situation as himself “getting [his] hands on the wrong stuff at the wrong time”.

Kendrick has chosen to fill the album with mostly solo tracks. Jay Rock, Drake, MC Eiht, Dr. Dre and Mary J. Blige are the only features on the deluxe album, only 3 of them featuring on the standard album. Along with hit singles “Swimming Pools” and “The Recipe”, there are some definite bangers on the LP; “Bitch, Don’t Kill My Vibe”, “Money Trees”, “Poetic Justice” and “m.A.A.d city” to name a few.

Album rating: 10/10

Track List:

1 Sherane a.k.a Master Splinter’s Daughter
2 Bitch, Don’t Kill My Vibe
3 Backseat Freestyle
4 The Art of Peer Pressure
5 Money Trees (feat. Jay Rock)
6 Poetic Justice (feat. Drake)
7 good kid
8 m.A.A.d city (feat. MC Eiht)
9 Swimming Pools (Drank) [Extended Version]
10 Sing About Me, I’m Dying of Thirst
11 Real (feat. Anna Wise)
12 Compton (feat. Dr. Dre)
13 The Recipe (feat. Dr. Dre) [Bonus Track]
14 Black Boy Fly (Bonus Track)
15 Now or Never (feat. Mary J. Blige) [Bonus Track]
16 Collect Calls (Bonus Track)
17 Swimming Pools (Drank) [Bonus Track]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s