Meek Mill’s ‘Dreams & Nightmares’ Album


“Double M, yeah that’s my team, Rozay the captain, I’m lieutenant”.

Dreams & Nightmares is a story, not an album. From growing up in the hood, going to prison to now being worth millions, Meek Mill tells you every single detail you want to know. From the intro to “Young Kings”, the mood constantly switches throughout the album.Meek stated that the album isn’t “gonna be all over the place like the mixtapes. This album I’ma make it connect, I’ma try to perfect my craft a little more, make sure the flows touch the beats a little better, make sure the beats sound clearer.”

A track Meek paid particular attention to was “Traumatized”, where he discusses the torture of losing his father at such a young age. Meek doesn’t hold back emotion, “when I find the nigga that killed my daddy, know I’ma ride, hope you hear me, I’ma kill you nigga”, then going on to rap “you ripped my family apart and made my momma cry, so when I see you nigga, it’s gonna be a homicide”. Contrasting to this track comes “Maybach Curtains”, featuring Nas, John Legend and the captain, Rick Ross. Meek unfolds his dreams on to a song, going from what he was, to what he’s become.

Other notable songs: “Real Niggas Come First”, “In God We Trust”, “Amen”, “Tony Story Pt. 2” and “Believe It”

Album Rating: 9/10

Track List:

1. Dreams And Nightmares (Prod. by Tone the Best Bully for Nightrydas Productions)
2. In God We Trust (Prod. by Black Metaphor for Nightrydas Productions)
3. Young & Gettin’ It featuring Kirko Bangz (Prod. by Jahlil Beats)
4. Traumatized (Prod. by Boi-1da)
5. Believe It featuring Rick Ross (Prod. by Young Shun for Maybach Music Productions)
6. Maybach Curtains featuring Nas, John Legend & Rick Ross (Prod. by Infamous & The Agency)
7. Amen featuring Drake (Prod. by Key Wane and Jahlil Beats)
8. Young Kings (Prod. by Lee Major)
9. Lay Up featuring Wale, Rick Ross & Trey Songz (Prod. by Kane Beatz and Co-Produced by Ashanti “The Mad Violinist” Floyd for The Building Productions, Inc.)
10. Tony Story Pt. 2 (Prod. by Boi-1da)
11. Who Your Around featuring Mary J. Blige (Prod. by Tommy “TBHITS” Brown and Travis Sayles for
12. Polo & Shell Tops (Prod. by Cardiak)
13. Rich & Famous featuring Louie V (Prod. by Jahlil Beats)
14. Real Niggas Come First (Prod. by Kenoe and Got Koke for Nightrydas Productions)
15. Burn featuring Big Sean [Bonus Track]
16. Freak Show featuring Sam Sneak & 2 Chainz


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s