A$AP Rocky’s “LONG LIVE A$AP” album


Harlem’s golden boy, A$AP Rocky, drops his first album and it’s even hotter than his first mixtape. The album is a work of art, from the production and engineering to the dynamics of it. The album leaked on the 19th, which was to many fans’ excitement; but I’m sure whoever downloaded the leak will also buy the album, it’s that sort of album. Both singles “F**ckin Problem” and “Goldie” appear on the album as expected, songs differ in terms of collaborations; “1 Train” features 6 other artists, where as Rocky goes in on several songs by himself. There are some surprising features on the album, Skrillex and Santigold being the obvious shocks, but not in a bad way. There have been a few mixes featuring A$AP Rocky and hard, D&B, dubstep tracks, noticeable ones coming from the likes of Carlos Serrano, who mixed A$AP Rocky’s “Peso” with Nero. So, one stand out track on the album is Rocky’s “Wild For The Night” with Skrillex, the mix works well, Rocky starts hard with “middle finger to the critics, me and my nigga Skrillex, you know we finna kill it, ASAP, we the trillest”. LONGLIVEA$AP consists of many ‘stand-out’ tracks because it’s A$AP Rocky, he doesn’t have a certain style of rapping, a certain style of samples, a certain style of instrumentals, he just does him. I asked A$AP Twelvyy earlier this week on Twitter what his favourite song from the album was. He responded “ghetto symphony”. A$AP Twelvyy’s song choice is on par with most fans, “Ghetto Symphony” is an incredibly well engineered song; it’s well thought out, Rocky goes in, Rocky picked perfect collaborations, the whole song flows and bounces, a song you can not only appreciate, but bob your head to – Rocky seems to be the future of hip-hop. XXL posted “1 Train” the night before the album leaked, so most fans got a listen before the whole album leaked. Other noticeable songs are: “PMW” (featuring ScHoolboy Q), “Hell” (featuring Santigold), “Fashion Killa”, “Jodye” and “Angels”, on top of the tracks previously mentioned.


01. Long Live A$AP (produced by Jim Jonsin and Rico Love)
02. Goldie (produced by Hit-Boy)
03. PMW (All I Really Need) [ft. Schoolboy Q] (produced by T-Minus)
04. LVL (produced by Clams Casino)
05. Hell [ft. Santigold] (produced by Clams Casino)
06. Pain [ft. OverDoz] (produced by Soufien 3000)
07. Fuckin Problem [ft. Drake, Kendrick Lamar and 2 Chainz] (produced by C. Papi and Noah “40” Shebib)
08. Wild for the Night [ft. Skrillex] (produced by Birdy Nam Nam and Skrillex, remixed by Skrillex and Lord Flacko)
09. 1Train [ft. Kendrick Lamar, Joey Bada$$, Yelawolf, Danny Brown, Action Bronson & Big K.R.I.T.] (produced by Hit-Boy)
10. Fashion Killa (produced by Hector Delgado, Friendzone and Lord Flacko)
11. Phoenix (produced by Danger Mouse)
12. Suddenly (produced by Lord Flacko, Hector Delgado and A$AP Ty Beats)

with Deluxe Edition
13. Jodye (produced by Joey Fatts and Lord Flacko)
14. Ghetto Symphony [ft. Gunplay & A$AP Ferg] (produced by V Don and Lord Flacko)
15. Angels (produced by Amsterdam)
16. Like I’m Apart [ft. Florence Welch] (produced by Emile Haynie and Amanda Ghost)

Album Rating: 10/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s