Drake’s 2012 takeover

drake studio

Today, fans have to been able to see what Drake has been nominated for at the WMA’s (The World Music Awards):

World’s Best Video -“Headlines”
World’s Best Song -“Take Care”
World’s Best Male Artist
World’s Best Live Act
World’s Best Entertainer Of The Year

Drizzy didn’t even release an album this year, but, somehow, he’s been one of the most successful rappers in the game. His main contribution this year came through his collaborations; being involved with major projects such as Meek Mill’s Dreams and Nightmares, Kendrick Lamar’s good kid, m.A.A.d city, Rick Ross’ God Forgives, I Don’t, The Weeknd’s Trilogy, 2 Chainz’s Based On A T.R.U Story and even Justin Bieber’s Believe! Yesterday, XXL released a list of “The 10 Best Drake Guest Verses of 2012”, Drake’s collaboration on Rick Ross’ remix of Lil Reese’s “Us” was among the rankings, as well as both “Enough Said”, from his Aaliyah project and his verse on K. Dot’s “Poetic Justice”. Drake didn’t need a list of his best verses, he gets a whole section on his guest verses. From the beginning of the year, we saw that Drake was putting himself in a sturdy position; one evening, Rozay asked Drake to come by and listen to his Rich Forever mixtape, Ross wanted to put Drizzy on a track with Stalley, named “Party Heart”, however Drake had different ideas, he heard “Stay Schemin” and was adamant to spit a verse on it. To this day, Drizzy’s verse in “Stay Schemin” is rated the best guest verse on a track throughout the whole of 2012. Drake takes shots at opposing artists, he puts on a tough guy look, he proves it to be very convincing. After much criticism over “Headlines” due to him trying to get established as being tougher than he may come across, Drake wasn’t fazed, he took on the challenged and did nothing but accomplish it, the verse in “Stay Schemin” is one of the most powerful verses of 2012 and is the hardest Drake has ever laid down. In the summer, Drake appeared on French Montana’s “Pop That”, Drake went in again – “I’m about being single, seeing double, making triple. I hope you p***y n***as hating never make a nickel”, this was yet another hard track that critics didn’t expect to see Drizzy on, but he came in and went ham. More recently, Drake has worked with both artists that accompanied him on the first leg of his Club Paradise Tour, A$AP Rocky and Kendrick Lamar. Both “Poetic Justic” and “F**kin Problem” have been banging on every single hip-hop radio station worldwide, not only because of K. Dot and Rocky, but because of Drake’s help in making the track even more of a hit. Throughout 2012, Drake has shown his ability in rapping, singing and producing. Now, he has his own record label, OVO Sound; nobody is signed yet, but it’ll be interesting to see who he will sign in 2013. The OVO Store is also now open, where his infamous October’s Very Own lifestyle is thrown onto some threads. Check it out.

Favourite Drake Lines In Guest Verses Of 2012 (in no particular order):

“…guess every team doesn’t come complete with n***as like ours, that’s why I see no need to compete with n***as like y’all, I just ask that when you see me, you speak up n***a, that’s all” – Stay Schemin (Rick Ross ft. Drake and French Montana)

“Kobe ’bout to lose 150 m’s, Kobe, my nigga, I hate it had to be him, bitch you wasn’t with me shooting in the gym [UGH, bitch you wasn’t with me shooting in the gym]” – Stay Schemin (Rick Ross ft. Drake and French Montana)

“I’m just hitting my pinnacle, you a p***y identical, you like the f***ing finish line, we can’t wait to run in to you. But let me get my mind off that, young, rich motherf***er, gettin’ mine off rap, with my n***as” – Stay Schemin (Rick Ross ft. Drake and French Montana)

“It’s about to be a hit right now, fuck that there, we the shit right now, dropped Take Care, bought a motherf***in crib, now I’m picking up the keys to the b**ch right now” – Pop That (French Montana ft. Rick Ross, Drake and Lil’ Wayne)

“OVO, that’s major shit, Toronto with me, that’s mayor shit, getting cheddar packs like KD, OKC, that’s playa shit” – Pop That (French Montana ft. Rick Ross, Drake and Lil’ Wayne)

“We don’t dress alike, we don’t rap alike, I shine different, I rhyme different, only thing you got is some years on me, man, f**k you and your time difference” – Pop That (French Montana ft. Rick Ross, Drake and Lil’ Wayne)

“2 Chainz and champagne, you want true, that’s true enough, Forbes list like every year, my office is my tour bus” – No Lie (2 Chainz ft. Drake)

“…hope you don’t judge me ‘cos me and you are not all that different, you made me this way, you made me famous, you all assisted” – We In This Bitch 1.5 (DJ Drama ft. Drake and Future)

“New n***as tryna shine, I didn’t condone it, but I’m back in this b**ch, reliving the moment, I’m about the have it popping off again, me and Drama bout to make it rain on Mary Poppins and her friends” – We In This Bitch 1.5 (DJ Drama ft. Drake and Future)

“Only n***a making albums with no f***ing filler, new deal on the table, look like ’bout like 10 milla, shout my lawyer man, he a contract killa!” – Us [Remix] (Lil Reese ft. Rick Ross and Drake)

“Yeah, at the top it’s just us n***a, yeah, that’s why I don’t really trust n***as, see my family and the money is a must n***a, all the fame and all the p***y is just a plus n***a” – Us [Remix] (Lil Reese ft. Rick Ross and Drake)

“I ain’t lyin’ in my verses, I’m just telling you the basics of growing up with your friends and becoming the one that made it” – Amen (Meek Mill ft. Drake and Jeremih)

“Oh word, ain’t heard my album? Who you sleepin’ on? You should print the lyrics out and have a f***ing read along” – F***in Problem (A$AP Rocky ft. Drake, 2 Chainz and Kendrick Lamar)

Let’s look forward to Drizzy’s next project, which is due in 2013. OVO. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

